Discuss Level 1 student, new to the Forum in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

HandsOffEngineer

-
Trainee
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm a new member here. I am a Level 1 student on the EAL Electrical Installation course, which I am taking part-time at a local FE college here in Yorkshire.

Good to be here and I look forward to reading your posts and having productive discussions.

I am a mature student with no background in electrics at all and I'm completely new to electrical installation - which is to say, I know nothing. I am a graduate (degree, A-levels, etc.) but I decided to enter at Level 1 because my previous career was office-based and, frankly, I don't (or rather, didn't) know one end of a spanner from another. (My father worked in factory engineering, but the relationship with him wasn't good and he taught me nothing).

I am enjoying the course and do not regret my decision. The academic/theoretical side of it is very 'easy' for me, and I've pretty much got the Level 1 theory cornered now as I bought a textbook and have read it cover-to-cover. I like the practical side of it much more because it's new to me and therefore much harder and so is a challenge - both mental and physical and in terms of manual dexterity. I am making mistakes but learning quickly.

As well as the course itself, the aim for me is to find and arrange suitable work placements in the electrical trade. On reflection, I would prefer not to take permanent employment at this stage, as I need to train a bit more and develop skills, but I am willing to consider both paid and unpaid placements and I can travel. I hold a CSCS Skilled Worker Card (the 'skilled' element refers to two completely unrelated trades).