Discuss Lighting Circuit - Mixed CPC Sizes! in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

S

shocksmith222

Hi All,

I am a newbie to the forum so please be gentle! :eek:

Today I have come across a recently rewired house and I noticed that the installing sparky has indicated on the Install Certificate that the lighting circuit is T&E 2 core 1.5mm and CPC 1.5mm. However, I have noticed that in fact there appears to be several runs where T&E 2 core 1.5mm and CPC 1.0mm has been used instead.

From a testing point of view it is fine and Max Zs is well within the Regs guidelines. I am just wondering 2 things and despite checking my regs cant find any 100% answer.

1. For the certificate - should it actually have been issued stating the smaller T&E 2 core 1.5mm and CPC 1.0mm rather than as it is now T&E 2 core 1.5mm and CPC 1.5mm?

2a) Am I obliged to advise the client that the T&E 2 core 1.5mm and CPC 1.0mm should now be replaced with the same cable as used in the majority of the lighting circuit, that is T&E 2 core 1.5mm and CPC 1.5mm
OR
2b) Can I simply leave it as it is and just advise the client that there is a mix of CPC size on the lighting circuit. Afterall the safety disconnect of the circuit is fine anyway.

Thanks to all in advance for your views.

Hi All,

I am a newbie to the forum so please be gentle! :eek:

Today I have come across a recently rewired house and I noticed that the installing sparky has indicated on the Install Certificate that the lighting circuit is T&E 2 core 1.5mm and CPC 1.5mm. However, I have noticed that in fact there appears to be several runs where T&E 2 core 1.5mm and CPC 1.0mm has been used instead.