Discuss Linking wind turbine to multiple home circuits in the Solar PV Forum | Solar Panels Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

K

Kurotani

-- This is my first post, so introductions may be in order. My name is Pete. I work for a small wind energy company primarily as a site finder. I am not an electrician, but might be in the future.. that's a different story --

I am looking to source some sort of a smart device [or devices] to optimise the usage of output from a wind 10 kW turbine. The property has 2 meters and 3 circuits on a "Total Control" tariff. Standard price electricity is supplied to the power points and cooker but half-price electricicity is supplied not only to storage heaters and immersion heater at [mainly off-peak] times selected by the electricity supplier but also to supplementary heaters [for a rated capacity of up to 40% of the power of the storage heaters] at any time. The latter two circuits are fed via separate outputs from the same meter; the full-price circuit is fed from the other meter.

So, ideally the turbine will supply the main circuit first, with any excess going onto the heating circuits. Any further excess can go onto the grid.

Has anyone any experience of doing something like this or have any recommendations for equipment that can perform this kind of power management.

Regards

wlecome pete,
your not off grid so it just requires a smart meter (energy supplier) and enjoy the fits too