Discuss Looking for information on compressor electrical items in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hello All,
I'm currently trying to revamp a 3ph 200l compressor that has most of the electrical equipment missing. I found this site by researching 3ph to 1ph motors. Some excellent info on here so I thought I'd join.
I'm a mechanical fitter by trade although I have worked on electrical devices throughout my working career.
Always better to get information from more qualified and knowledgeable people.
Cheers!

Hello All,
I'm currently trying to revamp a 3ph 200l compressor that has most of the electrical equipment missing. I found this site by researching 3ph to 1ph motors. Some excellent info on here so I thought I'd join.
I'm a mechanical fitter by trade although I have worked on electrical devices throughout my working career.
Always better to get information from more qualified and knowledgeable people.
Cheers!
Got a picture of the data plate on the motor?

When I had it it was missing:
Pressure switch
D.O.L starter
Bleed line
Relief valve
It did have a 5.5hp 3ph motor but the lead was cut off at the motor. I've checked the motor and if seems fine. I'm thinking of fitting a 5hp 1ph motor and doing research on that was how I came across you guys.

My concern is that the 1ph 5hp motor takes 25 amps and that may be too big to run from a normal domestic supply. I believe running it through a 25 amp D.O.L starter with overload should give me some protection but it's this sort of thing that I need advice on and hopefully I can get that here:)

20180905_143037-1.jpg
Here is the plate from the original 3ph motor. Compressor is a Clarke SE25C200

I don't think you'll get away with fitting a 5HP single phase motor for several reasons;

It will be lower HP than the original so it will probably be overloaded unless you reduce the pulley ratios to reduce mechanical load. This will obviously negatively effect the air output of the unit.