Discuss Making an electric shower smart in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi,
I have a 10.5KW electric shower in my home with a 50Amp 1 gang double pole switch fitted outside for it.

I wanted to convert this switch into a smart one so I can turn it off remotely when I forget to switch off the shower in morning.

However, I have been unable to find any wifi/zigbee switch that can do this.
The only switch I found was zwave and its 40amp only so not sure if that would suit either. Z-Wave Plus Aeotec Heavy Duty Switch - https://www.vesternet.com/z-wave-aeon-labs-heavy-duty-switch

I would be really greatful for any ideas about this.

Not being funny but I the isolator for the shower is used for maintenance purposes... I would not trust a 'smart' switch if I was an electrician messing with the shower.

You could put a smart switch that activates a contact, in line with the isolator.
Still not quite sure why you require this.

Ahh the old should i shouldn't i turn it off, most think it should be left on at all times and only switched for maintenance as already mentioned.

I kind of also toe the same line as 'what is the point', maybe a smart app' to improve your memory would be better than relying more on technology to do your thinking, I don't see the consequences of forgetting to turn it off unless we lack info' here.

Our confusion aside and as mentioned earlier the best way is a contactor with push button operation and a retaining coil, the App would act like the off button and drop the contactor out, I'll ad that your going to be throwing £100 + at it in parts alone then fitting cost for something I struggle to realise the need for.

it's a bloody isolator, not an on/off switch. you'd not isolate a socket final circuit to turn the TV off.

If you did still want to remotely isolate the shower, a contactor would be the way to go. This could be driven by low current smart switch of some kind.