Posting a message to the forum will remove the above advertisement
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Discuss Marine Electrician Shore-side Qualified in the Electrical Courses & Electrical NVQ's area at ElectrciansForums.co.uk.

Please make sure you checkout our forum sponsors, many do discounts for members and, they keep the forum free to use.
  1. BlackSabbath

BlackSabbath New EF Member

Hello,

First post on the forum so hello to everyone :)

I'm a marine electrical engineer by trade, and have been working full time in the industry since 2012 when I finished my HND. I have often wondered about getting shore-side trained/recognised and would like to know what the best route in doing so would be in Scotland? Never a bad idea to have a plan B contingency regarding work, it would be great to get to my own bed every night!

I have approached a few electricians locally looking for part time work (voluntary) on my time off, in order to pick up some domestic knowledge. But this was unsuccessful, for reasons I cannot understand...

The idea was to kick about with a local spark for 6-12 months (or how ever long it took) in order to become competent in how things are conducted ashore. Regarding the theoretical side of things, I was hoping my qualifications would be somewhat recognised and the regs, etc I could self study at-will. Regarding the practical side of things, a skills test when I felt ready? Not quite sure how it works.

Has anyone got any advice on the matter?

Thanks in advance!

2. The_apprentice2.0

The_apprentice2.0 Regular EF Member