Posting a message to the forum will remove the above advertisement
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. angel While you're here, would you mind checking out our Electrician's Insurance section to see if we could save you a few quid? - Specifically our Van Insurance Deals and Public Liability Insurance Deals. Thanks for supporting the forum! angel

5% Discount from Electrical2Go.co.uk for ALL members! - Click Here

Discuss MEM 3-phase board in the Commercial Electrical Talk area at ElectrciansForums.co.uk.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Please make sure you checkout our forum sponsors, many do discounts for members and, they keep the forum free to use.
  1. hightower

hightower Guest

Morning all,

As the regulars know, I work in a school part-time (while sparking part-time), and I'm going to do a bit work for them - they need power dropping in for 11 PCs. No problem, 2 RFCs should do to share the leakage currents of the machines, bit of dado trunking round the room, RFC covers the additional earth return path needed, job's a good 'un.

What's more, there's a DB in the room too so the run is an absolute doddle. But where I need help is with finding a suitable RCBO for the board. It's a MEM 3-phase board, (see attachment), and the following ways are spare:

Y1 (but as you can see, the dual module of B1 sits in this space)
    Y5 (but again, the dual module of R5 sits in this space)
    R6
    Y6 (protective device installed, but not in use)
    B6

There-in lies my problem. If I'm to use these BS3871 devices I need four spare ways, and I only have three. So I've got two possible solutions:

1) Somebody suggests a single module RCBO that I can use in this board (opening the board up, there's not a lot of head space between the breakers and the enclosure, so really not sure this is a solution.