Discuss micc cable in 1960's underflloor heating in the Central Heating Systems area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

E

edward cooper

I have split the micc cable leading up to the room stat in my appartment and was wondering if anyone know how this will be wired as i have no wiring diagrams for the installation. I am an electrician but have no idea how this is connected.
I know that its fed from economy seven on its own board. The micc cable starts and ends here as there are two terminations into the box or could they be two radial circuits as i have two thermostats? I can the see thm disappear into the floor and thats all i know.
Will the firstleg leaving the fuse board feed directly to the stat of will it first terminate under the floor then the stat. Any help ideas or contacts will be useful. I have access to tools to terminate myself if I need.
As soon as i pierced cable i taped up to stop moisture ingress so i believe cable should be ok.

Is it the single cored MI in the floor ( This stuffs a bit before my time, but remember hearing about it), the stat connections must join somewhere to the "element", maybe in the E7 board?

MICC from that era needs to be treated with care as it does not like being moved round much also it is probably imperial so if you damage it you will need to renew it as the pots etc are totally different sizes.

Hi no its two core MI cable. I have been lucky because i have dropped on pots and seals that are imperial that a shop had lying about. I am now going to attempt to reterminate it. Because it is now about 3 feet too short to the stat I was going to extend it using modern cable probably 2.5mm twin and earth. Can anyone see a problem to this as the MI is only running on 15 amp rewireable fuse.
Any better ideas are always welcome.