Discuss Movin into Self Employment/Agency work? in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

R

rwright1000

Hi Guys,

Im a recently qualified electrician (full apprenticeship) working for a small local firm doing mostly domestic work with a bit more chucked in. Also booked in to take my 2391 soon. Im slightly older than your average apprentice and very keen to push myself forward, both professionally and financially. My workload at the moment is limited to my employer and small PJs. Any larger amount of work I get offered is very hard to take on myself/sign off etc. Im keen to push myself and work longer hours as we all need to pay the bills/save etc.

Im thinking about joining some agencies for work, mainly for money reasons but also to gain some different experience. If it is feasible I would be self employed at the same time, hopefully getting work with others/for myself. I appreciate work is not a guarantee but you have to try these things. Can anyone advise me if this is a wise move, and also if combining the two is possible? Im looking into costs of setting myself up including tools, transport etc and importantly what tickets do you need to get a look in at agencies so any help on these would be much appreciated too.

Thanks for your time guys

working for a agency is all you need nine times out of ten is that gold card anything else is usually a bonus. but if you do have ay additional qualifications then i would list them with the agency because some of them list the highest qualified person first so for example as soon as somebody needs a spark then you will be the first they ask.

just what i have found working for a agency.

ps. i have worked for a agency when my old firm was quiet while i will still on the books as paye