Posting a message to the forum will remove the above advertisement
  1. angel While you're here, woud you mind checking out our Electrician's Insurance section to see if we could save you a few quid? - Specifically our Van Insurance Deals and Public Liability Insurance Deals. Thanks for supporting the forum! angel

Discuss Multifunction Tester in the Electrical Tools and Products area at ElectrciansForums.co.uk.

Please make sure you checkout our forum sponsors, many do discounts for members and, they keep the forum free to use.
  1. Alex W

Alex W EF Member

Hey, this might seem like a silly question but I am only a trainee so please bear with me.

I've been looking at purchasing a multifunction tester, more specifically a megger 1741. The thought hit me, would if be worth waiting until after the release of the 18th edition? Im a little worried that a new megger purchased now might not be able to carry out all the tests required in the 18th. Am I just being over wary or would it be worthwhile waiting?

2. telectrix

telectrix Scouser and Proud of It Trusted Advisor

Business Name:
    Telectrix
    the 1741 will be ideal, but why not contact test-meter, a forum sponsor, who can advise better than any on testers.

• Like Like x 1
  3. Murdoch

Murdoch Electrician's Arms

Unless the 18th edition comes up with some new super testing that existing testers can't do delaying your purchase isn't likely to impact you.

As tel say contact test meter, and don't skimp on what you buy - if looked after, the device should last for a very long time

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. Alex W

Alex W EF Member

I spoke to them last Friday for a quote, in hindsight I probably should have asked them then, though in all honestly I was more focused on seeing if they would do me a discount :D

• Like Like x 1
  5. buzzlightyear

buzzlightyear Electrician's Arms

has JIM BOWEN use to say why not.

6. Dannyg8810

Dannyg8810 Electrician's Arms