Discuss Multifunction Tester in the Electrical Tools and Products area at ElectriciansForums.net

Alex W

-
Reaction score
Hey, this might seem like a silly question but I am only a trainee so please bear with me.

I've been looking at purchasing a multifunction tester, more specifically a megger 1741. The thought hit me, would if be worth waiting until after the release of the 18th edition? Im a little worried that a new megger purchased now might not be able to carry out all the tests required in the 18th. Am I just being over wary or would it be worthwhile waiting?

Unless the 18th edition comes up with some new super testing that existing testers can't do delaying your purchase isn't likely to impact you.

As tel say contact test meter, and don't skimp on what you buy - if looked after, the device should last for a very long time

Hi guys - 18th won't change the test features offered by what are currently marketed at '17th' testers, other than product descriptions on the website, wholesalers, magazines etc.

One thing to bear in mind is any earth testing requirements that you may have in the future with the proposed changes - some MFTs have the ability to conduct earth tests using spikes and long leads.

If you don't choose a tester that offers this function, you might need to consider buying/hiring a separate standalone tester when the need arises.

MFT1741 does include this option, as does the 1731.

Thanks Danny for the update. I purchased my 1730 with the spike kit 4 years ago. Don't do much TT stuff, and as yet never had to install a rod - some of the existing installs I have done, have been terraced properties front door straight onto the street. Good luck with replacing the rod on those!

We shall have to see how the draft pans out, but whilst in my wholesalers today, looking for a new MET, I was shown the shelves for earthing 'stuff'. Bottom rack had a bunch or various earth rods, I commented 'best order some more in, you can make a killing!'.