Discuss Multimeter - basic continuity test in the Electrical Tools and Products area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi

I'm a product design student working on a project and am looking to get some advice.

I would like to buy a cheap test instrument that can carry out the following earth continuity test.

Maximum resistance 0,50 ohms measured by passing a minimum current of 10 A at between 6 V and 12 V for at least 1 second.

Basically the component is two pieces of metal held together with machine screws. The metal has been powdercoated and I have removed some paint under the screwhead. I want to check enough paint has been removed so that it would pass the above test.

Would a cheap multimeter be able to do this?

I have looked at continuity multimeter videos on youtube but I can't see how you can set amps and voltage on the continuity setting.

Many thanks

Hi

I'm a product design student working on a project and am looking to get some advice.

I would like to buy a cheap test instrument that can carry out the following earth continuity test.

Maximum resistance 0,50 ohms measured by passing a minimum current of 10 A at between 6 V and 12 V for at least 1 second.

Basically the component is two pieces of metal held together with machine screws. The metal has been powdercoated and I have removed some paint under the screwhead. I want to check enough paint has been removed so that it would pass the above test.
Would a cheap multimeter be able to do this?

I have looked at continuity multimeter videos on youtube but I can't see how you can set amps and voltage on the continuity setting.

Many thanks

I suspect a cheap multi-meter is going to require a jump-start pack:)

You won’t buy a cheap new tester that is capable of such a test current.
Multimeters will produce a tiny test current, and a continuity tester used for general electrical installation testing normally tests at 0.2A.