Discuss Multimeter showing reading when nothing is plugged in in the Electrical Tools and Products area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
I want to talk about the context to this first, I'm in my first year at college studying level 2 electrical installation and for Christmas my family got me a toolkit which had some tools , multimeter and a soldering iron. They didn't really know much about things like that and they wanted it to be a surprise so the quality isn't so good, here is the exact tool kit: ZD-961_Tool Kit_Products_Ningbo Zhongdi Industry & Trade Co., Ltd. - http://www.china-zhongdi.com/product/291.html

Okay so I was messing around with the multimeter, turned it to AC voltage, and measured a socket to see if it works. It did, came up with 233v. Then I wanted to measure the amps in the socket, so I changed it to the 10A max , put the test leads inside and theres a big flash , big boom and black around the black test lead and the socket.
I then look at the multimeter, switch it to "20 DC voltage"and it shows a reading although nothing is plugged in , same for "AC volatage" and "Amps" so far the ohms setting is normal.

Now I think what I did wrong, the AMPS had a DC symbol next to and I tried to measure AC or/and the socket is over 10A.

Is there a way to fix my multimeter, or am I better off getting a new one?

I want to talk about the context to this first, I'm in my first year at college studying level 2 electrical installation and for Christmas my family got me a toolkit which had some tools , multimeter and a soldering iron. They didn't really know much about things like that and they wanted it to be a surprise so the quality isn't so good, here is the exact tool kit: ZD-961_Tool Kit_Products_Ningbo Zhongdi Industry & Trade Co., Ltd. - http://www.china-zhongdi.com/product/291.html