Discuss Multiple 1PH Supplies into 3PH board in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

J

JackGetBack

Hi everyone,

I'm a Carpenter managing a shop conversion and am wondering if it is possible, legal and sensible to utilise the existing 2Phases plus bring in a third 1PH supply (assuring they come from different phases at street level). It will be potentially cheaper and easier than bringing in a new 3PH supply.

Currently, there are 2Phases (treated as two separate supplies) into the shop. One feeds the shop, the other feeds the flat upstairs.
The meter for the flat is in the shop and Northern Powergrid suggests that they will pay for relocation of flat's meter and supply of separate connection to flat.
This leaves 2Phases in shop. Our idea is to just bring an additional single phase in (ensuring it is from the third phase).

If this happens, will there be metering complications/expense and can they all be fed into a 3PH DB and life procede normally? Will we end up with one 3PH meter? Northern Powergrid lads are awaiting news from 'upstairs' about our idea, and feedback from sparkies... I just wanted to do my own research.

In case it worries anyone, I'm not doing the work, I just don't have an electrician to ask yet.

Cheers, and please forgive my ignorance on a professional forum,
Jack

i'd consider it bad practice to bring 2 supplies into 1 3 phase board. best get a 3 phase supply into the main board, then split as required from there.

Further info: The proposed, two 1PH supplies can come from the same joint in the street, further reducing the cost and hassle to my customer and the flat resident. It's a rented property and a new business so money is a bit tight.

i'd consider it bad practice to bring 2 supplies into 1 3 phase board. best get a 3 phase supply into the main board, then split as required from there.