Discuss Multiple 3 phase motors fed via a JB supplied with a 27 core SWA in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

R

Rob Taylor

Looking into a site today, just changing an isolator, i found multiple motors are supplied via a 27 core SWA cable.
The motors are only 1-3kw and are supplied as follows...
Main panel ---(27core SWA)----JB----(7core SWA)----Motor
The 7 core includes an isolator signal for control purposes.

I was just wondering how you would go about cable sizing, this was done in 27 x 2.5mm.
Is there anywhere that you can find out 27core correction factor for SWA, or is it a contact supplier job.

Some of the wires will pull minimal amps and others for phase etc will obviously have a significant load, but just wondered how people would work out there cable size.

I've been shadowing a sparks for a couple of years, done a sh*t, waste of time, domestic course, got my 2394 & 2395, although I still need LOTS more experience in periodics to carry them out on my own!!
Never come across this before and chap I'm with wasn't really interested.

New to the site, so sorry if this is in the wrong group etc!

The manufacturers will give you a current rating based on a 2 core cable, you then have to allow for grouping factor the same way you would if using singles in conduit for the same circuits.

If the current is less than a third of 100% of rated current then grouping factors won't apply. Also, the grouping factors stated in the bgb only apply to cables pulling full whack constantly. if the loads are off and on, or some are staggered, this also needs to be taken into account. I'd be surprised if you'd need to apply a grouping factor at all, and even if you did, it would most likely be minimal.

I don't think i've ever seen a 27 / 2.5 core SWA cable, must be a hell of a size. lol!!

It's surprising how many don't fully grasp or understand how to use the grouping factor table in BS7671......