Discuss Multiple bulbs in one extension in the Lighting Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Pell

-
Reaction score
Hey everyone!

I'm trying to create lighting with hanging filament LED bulbs, something similar to the image below.

Multiple bulbs in one extension Lights 1 - EletriciansForums.net

For various reasons I can't buy the ceiling fittings and will have to settle for ones with UK 3 pin plugs. I've found one on ebay with the description that reads "Up to 60W bulbs, 250V, 3A"

and was hoping to pair it (x6) with 2-4W filament LED bulbs that will all be plugged to one extension (with 6 sockets) that will then be plugged into a wall outlet.

Will this be safe? Is there anything I should be aware off/worried about with this kind of set-up? I'm a complete noob when it comes to electricity, any help will be much appreciated!

Cheers,
Jacob

Plugging 6 x 4w bulbs into a power board and then extension lead is safe !.
Is it going to be a permanent fixture or just temporary ?
Electrical code tends to frown upon using flexible cords for permanent fixtures.
They tend to prefer proper cable.

Plugging 6 x 4w bulbs into a power board and then extension lead is safe !.
Is it going to be a permanent fixture or just temporary ?
Electrical code tends to frown upon using flexible cords for permanent fixtures.
They tend to prefer proper cable.

Where do you get this impression, if the cables are suitable for the load and environment then they are just as good regardless of trends or rule of thumb..

Response: In accordance with 1910.305(g)(1)(iii), flexible cords may not be used in permanent installations as specified in (A) through (E) below:
(A) As a substitute for the fixed wiring of a structure;

Last edited:
@dmxtothemax