Discuss Need help with installing a DIY solar system in the Solar PV Forum | Solar Panels Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi,
I am planning to move to Hungary later this year & am looking into installing a 12v solar system for powering 12v lights in the outbuildings. I am a complete novice to solar power & have done lots of research but still a bit confused with some things. What I have planned is having a 100w solar panel, 40A MPPT charge controller & a 85ah deep cycle battery. I decided on a 40A controller in case I want to add more panels in the future. What I am confused about is what rating fuses I should use & where to put them & also what gauge of cable is needed taking into consideration future expansion. Would be grateful for any help. Thanks.

Hi,what number/size of lamps,are you intending to use,and how far are they spread?
That battery is smaller than me nan's pacemaker;) and you will only want to deplete it to 50%,so it will have limited capacity.

Hi,
I am planning to move to Hungary later this year & am looking into installing a 12v solar system for powering 12v lights in the outbuildings. I am a complete novice to solar power & have done lots of research but still a bit confused with some things. What I have planned is having a 100w solar panel, 40A MPPT charge controller & a 85ah deep cycle battery. I decided on a 40A controller in case I want to add more panels in the future. What I am confused about is what rating fuses I should use & where to put them & also what gauge of cable is needed taking into consideration future expansion. Would be grateful for any help. Thanks.