Discuss Need help with wiring a fan isolater, testing unit possibly broken. in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi,

I had a problem with the fan isolator in the bathroom and it cut out.
So I had a look at the switch and replaced it.

But that didn't fix the issue and I am wondering if the unit itself has gone.

Is there a way that I could test it?

This is how the switch was wired.

sw.jpg

And this is how the fan was wired. (NB. Grey cable was originally in but I took pic as I was removing the unit)

fanbrm.jpg

Thanks

Firstly, are you an electrician and have you safely isolated this circuit?

Firstly, are you an electrician and have you safely isolated this circuit?

Hi,

I'm not an electrician by trade but I have attended electrics classes and know some basics.

I have isolated the circuit and everything is off.

Thanks

Why have they tagged the black brown if it's been used a a neutral o_O.

You could get a volt meter and see if you have power there or just call an electricatian to test it for you

Identify your 3 wires (live, n , s/live). Check you have a voltage on both lives at fan. If so, replace fan if not. Check load side at isolator. If no voltage, (but there is on feed side ) replace isolator. Job done.

What originaly was wrong with the fan isolator as you originally posted, it may be ok and the fan's u/s or vicky verky :)

I'm not an electrician by trade but I have attended electrics classes and know some basics.
Identify your 3 wires (live, n , s/live). Check you have a voltage on both lives at fan. If so, replace fan if not. Check load side at isolator. If no voltage, (but there is on feed side ) replace isolator. Job done
looks like some ones wired it with 3phase color coded cable

it work out how they have actually wired it first
FFS ,WHAT PLANET ARE YOU PEAPLE ON ,TO THE PERSON FANS FAULTY
GET SOME IN THAT KNOW WHAT THEY DOING.

looks like some ones wired it with 3 phase color coded cable