Discuss Nest wiring help - not controlling boiler on/off unless hot water set to heat in the Central Heating Systems area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
1st post and I’m not a heating engineer/electrician so apologies for lack of proper terminology.

It’s a long story but in essence I had a new conventional boiler replace 2 years ago (Worcester Bosch 28i) and had issues with way heating engineer wired up the new rf thermostat.

Decided to fit a nest to make life simpler. He has installed the nest and now I only seem to get heating when the thermostat is set to run both hot water and heating. Once the water in the tank gets to temp it then switches off and I have no heating.

The thermostat is controlling the hot water and the heating actuator valves upon command (on/off). However when you switch the heating only ON the valve opens up but the boiler does not switch on (will only come on if I also set HW to come on).

The heatlink over ride button does not appear to switch on the boiler either.

Anyone got any thoughts on what he has done wrong. I’m at my wits end. It’s the 3 time he has attempted to fix it.... I’ve persevered with him as it should be his job to fix. I’ve spend plenty. But not sure he knows what he’s doing.

If you've paid a so called heating engineer to install it and it isn't working as it should,get the fella back in to sort it out. If he has no clue then he should be paying someone to sort it out.

It’s my intention to get him back... for 3rd attempt at fixing my controls. I’m loathed to pay someone else - end of the day it’s his job but I’m at my wits end with him. But you don’t put your can in the garage to pay a mechanic to nearly fix your car. Putting nest in was meant to fix the problem at the cost of £220. Will try to post photo.