Discuss NEW BUSINESS, DO I OR DON'T I? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

DMW87

-
Reaction score
Hi guys, bit of advice needed.

I currently work in an electrical engineering factory building high voltage switchgear. I am a qualified electrician but have been out of contracting for 6/7 years now.

I have been given an opportunity to set up an electrical arm to a building company. Keen as I am, I am nervous about getting back into contracting. I have 17th edition regs but have seen I will need 18th soon. My JIB gold card has ran out also. How hard is it to get the 2391 T & I qualification? I would then need accreditation with someone, who is best and most helpful to go with?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
DMW

Hi bud,in reply to your title question,i would say no.
To succeed in a venture such as described,you will need to know for sure,that you are 100% committed. You would not need confirmation from us eejits,on a forum :)

If the building company is expecting you to get involved with their planning issues,staff and design,it will be a bus ride away from contracting.

You may do it all in your stride...what do i know...i spent the morning trying to get a machine control board voice interface,to not swap to German,when things get sticky...

Sounds like I am in the minority here, but I would say go for it as long as you can afford it (meaning having plenty of money to cove your outgoings for a fee months). You only get one chance and you may regret it in the future. If it goes wrong there will be opportunities in the future for full time work.

I feel it would be very unwise to set up a business off the back of a building company. You would be taking all the risks and responsibility.
If you want to go it alone, do it. Contract yourself out to this business at a decent rate (£250 day rate) with invoices paid within 5 days.
Also don't tie yourself to one company. Put yourself out there, get a large customer base.