Discuss New guy - going to rewire house in Bulgaria in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi, I'm not an electrician but I did panel wiring for 10 years or more (Schneider, Square D, Merlin Gerin etc) and now I've moved to Bulgaria. The wiring in our house is ancient, a real mess, everything piggy-backed off something else & no earth circuit. There are virtually no rules here so I can do what I want but I want to make a decent job of it.

So I'll just start with one question, if I may. Houses here aren't earthed. If I want to add an earth circuit when I rewire the house, can I just bury a big chunk of metal in the yard with a cable attached and bring that in to the CU?

Hello TO and Welcome to the Forum.
If you would like to make a "good" job of it, I'd use something designed for that purpose. Typically we use a couple of 14mm rods, copper plated on the outside, steel on the inside. This gives the strength to be able to bash them into the ground. So you need 2 rods, 2 joiners, a driving bolt and a cable clamp, like the ones on this link - Earth Rods - https://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Main_Index/Earthing_Index/Earthing/index.html
Or
You could use a couple of metres of some metal pipe driven into the ground and a hose clip, but it won't be to UK standard.

It does depend on how the distribution transformer feeding your property is earthed. If they have not bothered earthing it, you could bury a chieftain tank and you still won't have an effective earth as there is no earth path back to the point of supply.
If no houses are earthed there must be a reason, I think it would be wise to do a bit of investigating into how the distribution system is set up before you start.