Discuss New job just got told i loose £20 less a day because my I'm just out of my time in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

T

thisisricky

got inducted at a new job today its an underground job in london

My agency they told me my rate when i got there and filled out all the forms i got pulled to the side by one of the companies supervisors doing the induction...because my Gold card was so fresh he asked me how long i have had it i told him 6 months he said I'm afraid your just an 'advanced mate' you will be dropped £20 a day on your rate

I'm absolutely gutted thats 100 pounds a week i'll be down just got a mortgage thats the last thing i need. after all the hard work i have done to get the gold card i am gutted i am not getting the rate.

I've been working as a mate since 1998 I've done my time :(

is this common practise with electrical firms a deduction when you just come out of your time?????

Last edited by a moderator:
It could be that it could also be some jobsworth knacker trying to brown nose his boss by saving a few quid. IMHO if you're a qualified bloke you're a qualified bloke and it shouldnot matter whether it's day one or day 1001 since you got the card. Is the place unionised?
Places I've worked before I've seen lads have an apprentice rate on Friday and a qualified rate on the Monday

I wonder if this "inspector" or whatever the hell he is is employed just to go round "getting folk" for their 20 quids. Think about it...how many contractors are down there ....thats a lot of 20 quids....so he obviously thought that you "wern`t competent enough" to be on the right rate....yet he`s still happy for you to do the work.....its b00locks that one.......

if your gold card says electrician then your an electrician,if its says trainee then your a trainee,i think he's trying to pull a flanker mate,just out your time makes no difference your a spark simple as.