Discuss New Member/Career Advice/HNC HND Electrical Engineering/ URGENT HELP!! in the Electrical Engineering Chat area at ElectriciansForums.net

CMac92

-
Reaction score
Hello all

First up I'd like to say thanks to everyone on here. I've used this website for many problems since I first started in the electrical trade and its been a great help

Just a little info about me so you can understand more about what I'm trying to accomplish

Over the past 5 years since my first day as an apprentice, I've managed to complete a list of several courses which follow;

- C & G 2330 level 3
- C & G 2356 NVQ level 3
- AM2
- C & G 2394 level 3
- C & G 2395 level 3
- CITB SSSTS

Most of this time has been spent self-employed and sub-contracting out, working on large fit out jobs, installation different lighting systems, and other jobs that your typical house basher won't come across. I've managed to secure a job with a local small company which is looking to expand as much as possible. I've been with them nearly a year now and theres been talks of setting up another department and opportunities for myself and the other key members on the team to progress. Problem that I can't shake that is say in a few years time with this company I will have an important role and hopefully a decent wage pack, my skillset is more than likely not going to increase in terms of qualifications which feels like if in 5-6 years time I was managing a different sector of the company and was at a managers level, if I was to lose my job for whatever reason then I would still be a 'Qualified Electrician' and nothing more. I've been looking into doing a HNC/HND in Electrical and Electronic Engineering and although I'm willing to fund this myself, I was thinking of about approaching my boss and seeing if he would be interested in 'sponsoring' me in doing this for a few reasons;

- i would be granted the time for studying (day release)
- i want to stay and progress with this company