Discuss New member, seeking a change! in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

L

Lewisyounger

Hi all,

I'm Lewis, a recently qualified turner who works on industrial valves. I also recently coded in a carbon steel pipe procedure for tig welding. Electrics has always been something I was eager to get into, I was an electrical systems engineering apprentice before I was made redundant, needing a job led me to where I am. Trouble is the pay is not really ideal compared to even labouring of all things.

I have a few questions if I may:

I have a level 2 city and guilds in electrical installation already. Is the level 3 worth doing in my evenings or would it be redundant?

I also have a level 3 BTEC in electrical engineering that I gained before I was made redundant, I was made redundant because they were ha I g a shuffle and the whole maintenance department was being disbanded and I wasn't willing to go into the production side of the company. I never got a chance to try it. I was the odd job boy who made up sensors and installed motors etc. They never assigned me one person to work with, and I asked and got nowhere.

I'm not sure what to do, I'm 23 with no house so I have the chance to make a change but I'm not sure what into, electrician route or the electrical engineering route. Just need some advice I know id need to probably do another apprenticeship but I don't want to be earning little money for a considerable amount of time.

Sorry for the essay!

-Lewis

level 3 followed by am2 and nvq3 is the way forward. do level 3 evenings at local college, while working as normal and try and get some part time practical experience with a local contractor at the same time.

Level 2 in electrical installation, would class you as a qualified Electrician.