Discuss New supply to factory in the Industrial Electricians' Talk area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Just wondering what people thoughts are on obtaining a supply to a part of a local mill where I am now a maintenance engineer. The existing installation is terrible with many switch fuses that have been added over the years, the oldest part is from 1946.

The total supply capacity in question is 1000Amps and enters a 1000A Dorman Smith main switch then off to bus bars. Lead tails are taken from these bus bars to the old 1946 busbars via a oil filled Pot breaker (stamped at 600A)

A local contractor is proposing removing the second oil filled pot breaker fitting a switch fuse, the busbars do not look big enough to be rated at 600A however they are proposing taking tri rated tails onto the output of the main breaker.

Personally I would much prefer a new switchboard to be installed and the 600A feed to the new factory be taken from there, this also allows for any emergencies if there are any issues where the feeds could be re routed to this switch board.

My concernes are with the reliability of this old switch and using the existing busbar chamber as a cable way, also the capacity of the lead cable feeds as there is no indication of what the oil filled breaker is turned down too.

The issue is I’m not sure what to propose, I’d like a new feed taken from the 1000Amp Dorman Smith to a new switchboard, is this a feasible idea? The existing load is around 400A however this will reduce once the new plant is running.

What’s everyone’s thoughts? I know it’s difficult to suggest but I just think what’s being proposed is a terrible idea, it may be functional at the start when there’s hardly any load but it will be increasing over the next 7 years. This also has to be done while the place is running as it cannot be shut down for weeks obviously. My aim would be to remove as much load from the old part as possible.

B37B8EBF-820F-4364-8C62-7ACB10C8210E.jpeg