NICEIC Certification Scheme NICEIC Assesment expectations

Discuss NICEIC Assesment expectations in the Certification NICEIC, NAPIT, Stroma, BECSA Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

M

muarrif

Hi All,

Firstly I am new to this forum and apologies if I am posting in the wrong area.

I have recently attended the Part-P domestic installers course that covered the following:

• City & Guilds 4141-01 - Electrical Installation Work within a Domestic Dwelling
• City & Guilds 2393 – Building Regulations - Part P
• City & Guilds 2392-10 – Inspection & Testing
• City & Guilds 2382-15 – 17th Edition Wiring Regulations

I have some previous knowledge (BEng degree in Electrical & Electronics engineering). Although I am not looking to become a full time electrician but want to be able to do or jobs and ensure I follow the right path and comply to regulations.

For this reason I was looking to register with NICEIC so that any work I do undertake, I am able to issue the appropriate certificate.

My questions n is, what is required/expected from NICEIC when registering and when they come out to asses/inspect the work?

i.e single circuit (new) / complete change of CU, and/or minor work

Any help guidance would be much appreciated

Welcome to the forum!

When /if you apply to the NICEIC they will tell you exactly what they will expect from you!

PS Is there a reason that you are thinking of NICEIC, rather that one of the other options?

The C&G course you listed is a 5 day course, with the 2392, 17th and Part P, youve probably done around 10 days of tuition?

I wouldnt go straight into NICEIC, you should work under a experienced spark for the near future
I would ask for the money back as you will have paid well over the odds for the courses which could be done at a local college for a lot less.