Discuss No inner peace in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

C

Chrishands

Im a qual electrician working as a maintenance engineer i was thinking of joining a body like napit ect so i could undertake notifiable jobs. however i have done a few minor non notifiable jobs and the things i find scare me.
Today i changed a few light fittings but the consumer unit had missing mcbs and exposed bus bar! as it was a c1 i immediately made safe by glueing a plastic card over the hole however i dont have time or registration to replace fuseboard. i have advised owner but dont feel like its enough

My question is do you find inner peace in your work or do you constantly feel anxious of work done incase you missed something?

Inner peace comes from knowing exactly what you should be doing, and doing it. Issuing certification that proves you have done things correctly, and having the correct insurances in place should something out of the blue pop its head up is also essential to a good nights sleep.

If I find something that requires it, a danger notification covers me until such time as the customer will arrange for me, or others, to fix the dangerous situation.

Some din rail mounted blanks would have sufficed in your case and would not have been notifiable.