Discuss Off the wagon... Need advice in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Morning all. Newbie here but sure I'll keep a finger on the pulse now I've joined the forum.

I was a self employed sparky for about 8 years. I sold all my test gear and packed in 5 years ago to pursue my passion of music... Sadly though, I've fallen off the wagon due to a new house purchase and just bought an old MFT on ebay for peanuts. Not calibrated mind you, but I aren't too bothered.

Anyway waffling done,
As stated above, I've just bought my first house and am looking to have a wonderful festive break of rewiring and replastering the 90yr old beauty of a deathtrap I am going to be calling home for the next few decades. I'm a bit out of the game these days with what's new and fancy and what's the next s*** fad that won't last.

So lads and ladies... I am here simply to ask you (still suffering) sages of the sparky world what is worth spending my money on. It's a 3 bed semi, with garden and a separate garage.

I'm going to be fully rewiring the lot so throw in any suggestions to add to my list.

Thanks in avance

- a reluctantly dragged out of retirement sparky (masquerading as a musician)

LED lighting...Collingwood, Integral, Aurora are good. Avoid cheap Screwfix etc, false economy. Crabtree starbreaker amd 3 DB with RCBO's. Nothing much has changed in 5 yrs mate. Just avoid cheap stuff same as then, and don't forget the amd 3 requirements for non combustible DB's.
How are you planning register the job with BC?

Smoke alarms. Specific requirements for the kitchen if you have no current plans, perhaps pull in separate cables for use later. As your rewiring, think about the positioning of the CU.

Echo those thoughts on calibration & compliance