Posting a message to the forum will remove the above advertisement
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Discuss Out Building Has No Earth in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectrciansForums.co.uk.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Please make sure you checkout our forum sponsors, many do discounts for members and, they keep the forum free to use.
  1. Pippyboy1916
    Offline

    Pippyboy1916 Guest

    Hi guys,

    working on a pir yesterday, 2 buildings, readings in main building fine. 10m away there is an out building getting feed from an isolator "in main building" earth reading 50ohms. Can i supply a new earth via a earth rod for the out building and put a rcd on the main switch at the comsumer unit in the out building? the customer had a spark in a couple of weeks ago, he also stated that the high earth and put a rcd before the main switch "in the main building" the problem that i had with this that i was getting high reading and the disconnection time were not begin meet on the mcb's "out building" comsumer unit. the spark said to the customer that under a 100ohms u can put a rcd on it!

    any ideas
     
  2. johnboy6083
    Offline

    johnboy6083 Band Member Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    South east
    well the RCD overides the disconnection times for the MCB's as with a Zs of less than 1667 ohms, then an RCD will disconnect within 0.4 secs. I would check the connections of the submain to the outbuilding, it may be a loose terminal or corrosion on a connection ect, and easily sorted.
     
  3. SimpleSimon
    Offline

    SimpleSimon Guest

    Location:
    Yateley
    If you were to put an RCD on the outbuilding with an earth rod attached you could than take your max Zs reading as 1667 ohms. Then this would comply with max connexion times. Also to make sure all bonding extraneous parts are bonded in the outbuilding.
     
  4. Guest123
    Offline

    Guest123 Guest

    Gents, you need to be more specific simply stating 'put an RCD on it and the max Zs can now be 1667 ohms' imo is not correct as there is more than one type of RCD....isn't there.;)
     
  5. SimpleSimon
    Offline

    SimpleSimon Guest

    Location:
    Yateley
    Too shay Lenny (if that's how you can say it.) :)
    To be more specific a 30mA RCD which is used for additional protection.BS 61008 Disconnection time in 0.2s as structure is classed as a TT supply. :D

    If your gona put it in the tails 100mA
     
  6. johnboy6083
    Offline

    johnboy6083 Band Member Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    South east
    i do aplogise, you are right len, in my first post i was referring to a 30mA.

    If there is a 100ma RCD at the front end of the submain, then your max Zs is 500ohms (50/.1= 500, 50 being max touch voltage, 0.1 being fault current)

    I still stand by advising you to check all of the connections on the submain.

    John
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2010
  7. Guest123
    Offline

    Guest123 Guest

    Touche':cool:

    I think a bit more info is needed from the OP to reach a steadfast conclusion i.e what type of earthing system is in the main building (as to me it sounds though it isn't TT), what type of cableing is the distribution circuit to the outbuilding, installation method etc etc.

    Why the Zs is then so high at the outbuilding end is slightly confusing??
     
  8. johnboy6083
    Offline

    johnboy6083 Band Member Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    South east
    high Zs on a non TT system sounds to me like either, Loose connections, corrosion, or no earth present, and relying on other earth paths, ie bonding/steelwork ect
     
  9. SimpleSimon
    Offline

    SimpleSimon Guest

    Location:
    Yateley
    Merci Monseuir.
     
  10. johnboy6083
    Offline

    johnboy6083 Band Member Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    South east
    je, ne pas comprende, je ne parle francais, or something like that. Merde!
     
  11. telectrix
    Offline

    telectrix Scouser and Proud of It Respected Member

    Location:
    cheshire/staffordshire
    Business Name:
    Telectrix
    Sprechen sie deutch?---- "achtung spitfire"
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2010
  12. SimpleSimon
    Offline

    SimpleSimon Guest

    Location:
    Yateley
  13. wirepuller
    Offline

    wirepuller Forum Mentor

    Location:
    south uk
    Whats the R1R2 reading on the distribution circuit ?...(assuming the earth is from the MET).....installing an RCD to a dodgy earth is only half sorting the issue.
     
  14. Pippyboy1916
    Offline

    Pippyboy1916 Guest

    the r1/r2 are fine, its a tncs in the main building, every Zs is the same as the Ze 30 plus ohms at the out building board, is it ok to put a rod in and run it to the out building board for a earth? iv never put one in before. if i do this i would put a rcd on the main switch at the out building board. the problem iv got is why has the spark put an rcd on at the isolator when there really no earth?
     
  15. malcolmsanford
    Offline

    malcolmsanford Electrician's Arms

    What you need to do is establish your Ze at the origin as this is the only place you can have a Ze. The Zdb at the outbuilding is a different animal altogether.

    As you know you should with a TNC-S get a Ze below 0.35 ohms, if your not getting this then a call to the DNO will be your next step. In fact it would not be a bad call to contact them anyway to confirm if it is a proper TNC-S. You could also as said previous check all the connections to make sure everything is ok 30ohms would suggest on a TNC-S to either be broken at the link and your getting parallel paths. doing a ZE will give you a better idea.

    If the TNC-S as been exported then you have lost it as a building just 10m away should have a pretty good Zdb.

    The first call will be to confirm what your Ze is, confirm if it is a TNC-S by the DNO and take it from there.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Building Earth Forum Date
HNC Building Services Engineering / Elec & Elec Electrical Courses & Electrical NVQ's Yesterday at 12:42 PM
Part F building regs................... Electrical Forum Nov 28, 2018
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Electricians Directory Post a Domestic Job Post a Commercial Job