Discuss Outside lights with PIR and manual overide in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

B

bud

Hi , I am a newbie trainee and would like to understand something please. I am working with someone else, replacing outside pir lighting. The property has 3 outside lights front, and 3 at the rear. They are currently the half lantern style PIR slave units. the front ones have a manual overide switch inside the property like a light switch. The owner is therefore able to switch the front lights on when wanted. At the rear, it is a little more complicated, the switch for manual override has never been satisfactory since it was installed 5 years ago. Also two of the rear lights will sometimes spontaneously come on and stay on for 48 hrs or so then go off again. The owner wants the lights replaced and hopes to update them to a stainless steel more modern looking light. The rear lights havent been touched yet. The front supply to each light has 2 live 1 neutral and 1 earth wire. The lights the owner supplied, although PIR are incompatable with this as having different internal fittings. We are having some difficulty obtaining any lights that have a manual overide and PIR. The ones bought were about £30 each. Can someone please explain the wiring to me ? and if they know where we could obtain suitable inexpensive lighting? Would separate PIR sensors with manual overide be any good in this case? The property needs the 3 lights because of the angle of cover. Forgive me for sounding so green!:smile5:. Thanks for your guidence in advance.