JIB Electrotechnical Certification Scheme (ECS) Path from Domestic Installer to JIB.

Discuss Path from Domestic Installer to JIB. in the Certification NICEIC, NAPIT, Stroma, BECSA Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

CRog92

-
Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I'm looking at doing a course to become a DI but I don't want to just be doing residential maintenance forever, i'd like to work on site eventually but have been told I would not be able to unless I work as a mate or do the 2365 level 2 and 3 and the NVQ 3 after and I don't have the funds at the moment to do the 2365 and so on.

The course I'm looking at doing gives me the following quals:

Principles of Electro Technology – City & Guilds 4141-02
Domestic Installation Workshop – City & Guilds 4141-01.
Part P Domestic Installers Course – City & Guilds 2393.
17th Edition Wiring Regulations - City & Guilds 2382-15.
Inspection & Testing Course – City & Guilds 2392-10.
PAT Testing - City & Guilds 2377-22 & 2377-32

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks.

If you do this domestic installer course with a view to eventually gaining a NVQ to gain a ECS graded card for site work, then you will have to start from scratch when you go the NVQ route.

The domestic course is a selection of parts of the 2365 content and will limit you prospects wise and knowledge wise.

If you want a NVQ in the end, then make it your goal and starting point.

Hi,you say "just" a domestic installer...to be good at that,you would need more than just a course,you would need a rake of experience,too.

Do not think,that any course,bypasses the need for real experience and some slog thrown in.

It will be this experience,which allows any future academic input,to soak in,and make sense. :)