Discuss Paying for training through limited company in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

DNS1

-
Esteemed
Reaction score
Hi chaps,

I'm very new to the business side of the game, but I'm going to be setting up as a limited company in the next couple of months.

I'm going to be the sole shareholder and will deposit a lump sum to fund the start up.

At some point I'm going to go back to college and do my 2392 and 2391 in the next 6 months. Is this something that the company can pay for and claim back tax on?

Cheers!

Stay as a sole trader until you earn a given amount. You can still claim back on training costs. Speak to your accountant. Rebate for sole trader, 300-350 for limited 900+ per year

I'm not 100% on this but when I was self employed training was 100% tax deductible so you essentially got the money back for the course

Interesting spin on this. Training to improve your employability is NOT, I repeat NOT tax deductable. Training to maintain a previous qualification is, so a 17th Ed update is.

Which is total madness and is probably why most employers skimp on training.

Oh when I did my 17th I'm sure my accountant said it was 100% deductible.

I'm by no means an accountant I just remember having a lovely rebate that year

For Limited companies training is treated like any other deductible business expense; it must be ‘wholly, necessarily and exclusively’ in the performance of duties and related to income. If the training is not linked to existing income, then it cannot be treated as a deductible expense through the limited company. I would suggest that someone working as an electrician taking electrical courses would be fine, however, as Murdoch says, HMRC may have a different view.
Interesting spin on this. Training to improve your employability is NOT, I repeat NOT tax deductable. Training to maintain a previous qualification is, so a 17th Ed update is.

Which is total madness and is probably why most employers skimp on training.