Discuss Phone Call Today in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Me: Hello, how can I help?

Them: I need you to replace my board

Me: ok, so you want a new consumer unit, no problem.

Them: I have the board, I just need you to fit it.

Me: o....k, I would not usually fit a board for someone supplied by the customer unless a specific type that I usually fit

Them: why?

Me: because it might be a heat of crap, what make did you buy?

Them: it's LAP...

Me: not a chance I am fitting that. Who advised you do buy a new board anyway?

Them: I'm a Part P approved electrician but I can't do it my self?

Me: if you are Part P Approved them what you are saying is you are registered with a body who has given you the Part P status andon that basis there's no reason you can't do it yourself.

Them: I am part p but dont have my 17th...

Me: right o, well if you want me to do it I need to supply it for you as I'm not fitting LAP.

Them: bye then

Always good to know that there's people out there more messed up than us! Jeez, talk about someone not having the first clue. You should have taken their name and run it through the register, see what came out.

Me: o....k, I would not usually fit a board for someone supplied by the customer unless a specific type that I usually fit

Me: if you are Part P Approved them what you are saying is you are registered with a body who has given you the Part P status andon that basis there's no reason you can't do it yourself.

Me: right o, well if you want me to do it I need to supply it for you as I'm not fitting LAP.

I agree with you, I would insist on supplying the kit as well, and how can a partP enthusiast not be 17th? I thought these 17 day courses were pat testing and 17th all thrown in together lol