Discuss PIR registration and CU replacement in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

C

clavaspark

Hi All,

I am an Electrician with 15 years' experience of installation and testing; I have my 2391 and can call myself a competent person. I am planning to go self-employed and there are a couple of things I am unsure of as follows.

To carry our PIRs on domestic properties is it a requirement that I should be registered with one of the electrical body's?

Also if a customer asks for a consumer unit change but doesn't want to pay for a PIR for their domestic dwelling would I be breaking any rules by doing this?

Cheers
Si

Welcome to the forums.

Was going to answer, but I notice you're in Scotland so I'm not sure on the first query.

The second one, I doubt it but they should be made aware that if issues are found during the changeover additional works might be required which would adversely affect their bill :)

But as I say, I'm not in Scotland so I'm not sure about the specific rules etc. that apply up there.

There are two ways to approach a CU change, by the book an EICR is carried out first and any faults rectified before the CU change. But in the real world most CU changes are the result of a request for a quote, and nobody is going to carry out a full EICR as part of an estimate for a CU change they may not even get. Normally I carry out a few basic tests and inspections which with experience is a pretty good guide to whether a CU change is viable when I site visit for the quote. The client is also made aware that full tests will be carried out during the CU change which may result in extra costs should there be any hidden problems.

In my opinion an EICR is the only way this can truely be confirmed.

This is what I disagree with ..............