Discuss PLC for a beginner in the Commercial Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

davesparks

-
Mentor
Esteemed
Arms
Reaction score
I’ve never used a PLC before but have found myself looking at a job which is going to put me onto that particular learning curve.
This is for lighting control, nothing to do with machinery or similar applications.
I’ve done a bit of research comparing features, price, availability, reviews etc and come to the conclusion that Siemens look like a pretty good bet. Does anyone here with experience in the field have advice? Are Siemens a popular unit or are they one to avoid?

I have looked at Siemens logo smart relays for other jobs and trialled them in demo software and found it to be pretty good but never actually got to using one.
I don’t think a smart relay will do this job as all the ones I’ve looked at don’t have enough I/O for what I need. At the moment I’m looking at 24 push button inputs and 48 outputs (based on the old, failing, system)

Allen Bradley are also popular but Siemens holds a large market within the UK and most people are trained with Siemens their support is also very good.

It’s an Allen Bradley unit in the old system, with two old failed units sat in the bottom of the cabinet. The story is that the system has been trouble since it was installed and the old guy who knew how to fix it (from what I’ve seen this means he bodged and bypassed things until it worked) has now retired.
So the customer wants a whole new control system

Right up my street. I'm not an electrician.

Siemens do a logo and Rockwell (Allen Bradley) have a micro 810.

Both are smart relays, they don't quite make it into the plc category. However they are cheap use the same basic functions and the software is free.

The software for PLCs is the biggest cost. For even basic stuff you're looking at 1k.

Schneider also do something similar.

All 3 are the same basic part with a different shell an badge. Different firmware.