Discuss Portable Appliance Testing, woohoo... in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

B

Ben Steele

Hey guy's,

Hope your all well.

For thoso of you who haven't spoken to me befor, i'm a trainee! Wippee...
And most of the time in need of a little help. :D

I have a couple of question's which i dont know the answe's to and i'm a little stuck!

If there is someone who could help, i would be so greatful :)

(Portable Appliances Testing) "My Favourite" :mad:

Class 1, Calss 2, Class 3.

1, Earthed
2, Double Insulated
3, SELV

For a class 1 appliance does the continuity reading have be within 1 Ohm? if so, why is this?

Also, im not to sure on what the insulation resistance results be within, for a class 1,2 and 3 either.

Could anyone shed some light for me please? :confused:

Many Thanks

Ben Steele.

EARTH CONTINUITY

Class I <0.1 ohm
Class II <o.1 ohm
Extension Leads <0.1ohm

should be as low as poss so as not to impede any fault currents

INSULATION RESISTANCE

class 1 >1Mohm
class II >2Mohm
extension lead >1Mohm

these are min acceptable values for the quality of the insulation, any less and its rubbish

Last edited by a moderator:
EARTH CONTINUITY
Extension Leads <0.1ohm

should be as low as poss so as not to impede any fault currents

As far as I am aware the <0.1ohm figure doesnt apply to extension leads.
The maximum permitted length for a 1.5mm squared extension lead is 15 metres which equates to 0.2ohms.
The IEE guide says that an RCD plug is required if a lead is any longer, and that any load must be considered so that voltage drop is avoided.

Hey All,

Thanks for the replys,

Double insulated being earthed! :cool: easy to catch yourself out hey! there's nothing worse than trying to look for something which was never there in the first place ha ha...:rolleyes:

Earth Continuity.

Now i know what the reading should be i guess it would now be time to ask why it has to be within 1ohm?

My thoughts are...