Discuss Power shower not running in the Central Heating Systems area at ElectriciansForums.net

P

pmmcbl

Hello all. After several checking several sites, this is the one with the best setup. As you can tell im new with a problem with a power shower.

The shower unit is done by Gainborough link - Gainsborough Ambassador High Pressure Mixer Shower - Concealed

Sadly I don't know the brand of the pump.

And it's a gravity system - Cold water tank on the loft and boiler on the second.

The problem really started today. I had a shower with no problems, then my otherhalf went in and she only had a bit of water coming from the shower.
The pump was still running. then, what I found very odd. She turned the shower off, the water stopped but the pump was still running!!!

I had to turn the power off the stop the pump from running. I then turned the pump on together with the shower and the pump isn't coming, the shower is running but at very very low pressure.

I guess it's either the pump has gone or there is some serious amount of air on the system. I also replaced the fuse and made not difference.

Thank you in advance

The chances are if the pump is running and your getting no pressure you have shed the impeller, or have some blockage perhaps in a filter, but that would not explain why the pump over ran when your turned the water off, that to me would indicated perhaps a pressure switch problem.

To be honest it would be virtually impossible to diagnose a problem via a forum without looking at your system and set up.

If you post your location here and perhaps your problem in the plumbing forum as well one of the lads could arrange to come over and have a look for you

Last edited:
The pump may need priming but that should not make the pump to run on.

Have you seen any sign of water anywhere, as if a pipe has come adrift this maybe why the shower has no pressure?

Thank you for your responses.