Discuss Powerful SDS for drilling joists in the Electrical Tools and Products area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

E

eskimo39

Hi guys I have been using a Bosch 710w corded SDS drill for about 3 months now for drilling joists but am finding on older joists it just keeps getting stuck and the clutch keeps coming in.

I am now looking at buying a better quality SDS Plus to use with a 25mm auger bit. Does anyone use a drill which seems to have no problems with joists? Or is this something that doesn't exist?

I have seen a Bosch 1100w impact drill without SDS : Bosch GSB21-2RE 1100W Impact Hammer Drill (240V) - Power Tools, Drills - Corded, Impact and wondered if this was more suited to drilling wood or I have just seen this:Dewalt D25313K 26mm L-Shape SDS-Plus Combination Hammer 240V which just seems like a more powerful SDS drill.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, I have a budget between £200-£275 and need 110v

Regards

Don't bother with auger bits. Get some of the irwin blue spiral ones they go through new and old joist like a knife through butter, Armeg do them as well think there called beaver bits or something. I would never go back to augers, think a complete set cost £30.

I'd stick to using the standard non sds drill too. What about a decent angle drill? Give you a little more room between the joists

Hi Pennywise,
Do you know where I can get the irwin blue spiral ones, as I too use the augers and they dont last at all.
Thanks and best regards,
Sav

Any Irwin stockiest should carry them screwfix even. I know for sure that D&M tools in Twickenham stock them. Correction they are around £37 at D&M they were £30 at the elex show at sandown sorry.

Last edited by a moderator: