Discuss Powering a hot tub off a 13A socket.. in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

T

tkm16

Hi,

I have recently been given a hot tub which is powered from a standard 13A plug. The manual says to connect it to a 13A IP66 socket which I currently don't have. I have been told I could just run a spur off the downstairs ring main to a IP66 socket outside, is this correct? I mean i'm no electrician but I thought will all the kitchen appliances etc wouldnt adding a hot tub overload the ring main?

Thanks!

what's the rating of the hot tub? generalyl, if it'comes with a fitted plug, your plan seems fine. don'tforget that the heater in the tub is only intermittent, due to thermostat.

I called a local electrical lad who has done work for me before and he suggested a spur...for some reason it just sent alarm bells ringing! Is there any calculations I could do to calculate the current load on the ring main? I may just call someone else if the power works out to be too much.

It is possible, but it will be tricky. We have a few spare mcb's in the CU but running the cable will be the hardest part as it goes under a wooden floor.

The CU us under the stairs and the hallway has been done in a hardwood style laminate floor so the routing of the cable will be hard. I will look at lifting floor boards in the living room tomorrow to see how hard it will be.

Google the confounded human slow-cooker,it may be a lot less onerous,in terms of power requirements,than you suspect. I repaired one for a pal,and it was only pulling a few hundred watts,took 3 full days to get water up to temp,which then thermostatically switches on/off,with a constant 50 watts for circulation pump.

agree with PEG .most hot tubs that come with a fitted plug only pull 8 -9A when heating.

I've got a hot tub (uses more than 13A!)
Note that the heater isn't the only current draw. When the heaters on the pump runs and they can be juicy as well.