• IMPORTANT: Please note that nobody on this forum should be seeking from or providing advice to those who are not competent and / or trained and qualified in their field (local laws permitting). There is a discussion thread on this global industry-wide matter HERE. This also has more information about the warning with regards to sharing electrical advice in some countries. By using this forum you do so in agreement to this.

Discuss Problem with 11KW Kiln in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Can you clever people advise as to why I might be having an issue with my ceramic kiln. I am a potter not an electrician so I will endeavour to give you what technical information I have.

11kw kiln running off a domestic board with its own 50A fuse on board in the house, 15m lenght of 10mm cable runs from house into my studio where it has its own board with a 62A breaker and 50A fuse.

The fuse in house is tripping when firing cycle reaches about 1060 degrees (kiln should reach 1250 degrees). It used to reach 1180 degrees before tripping but over a few years it has been tripping earlier and early.

The firing cycle of the kiln goes up slowly, automatically over 5 hrs automatically turning on and off until the end when its on full load. Kiln fired fine with no tripping day before yesterday (post element change) when taken fast at full load to temperature, but when I did a slower firing last night it tripped.

Kiln engineer took a reading of 45Amp and there is a drop in voltage from 240 to 232 when under load.

I have had kiln serviced and elements replaced this week and tripping still happening so pretty certain its not the kiln.