Discuss Question - British Gas engineer says there is a fault ? in the Central Heating Systems area at ElectriciansForums.net

Sch123

-
DIY
Reaction score
Firstly I don't know if I'm allowed here as I am not an electrician

I have a question though....
Just had british gas out here to service my boiler

He refused to carry out service because voltage stick glowed when he touched the casing on speaking with another gas engineer he tells me that as 240 volts go through the boiler then the voltage stick may just light anyway.

You can touch the casing without any ill effects

On speaking with British Gas engineer, he then put a meter into one of my upstairs sockets and said it read 100 oms and that this would be classed as dangerous, quickly followed by he isn't an electrical engineer.

Obviously this has made me worry as reading was in my sons bedroom.

my questions are...

1. The volt stick is it a true indicator of fault?
2. Is 100 oms too much for a plug socket and if so how dangerous?
3. As plug sockets and boiler on 2 separate rings then how can there be a fault on both?

Hi Sarah,

Welcome to the forums.

Voltsticks are not a reliable method of establishing whether there is a dangerous voltage present. I suspect most of us have them, but as stated, they should not be considered reliable. I typically use mine for locating cables and for general 'is it dead' when trying to find which fuse supplies an unidentified cable (where I don't yet know where that cable goes exactly) but I would not stake my life on one as such my voltstick is rarely used.