Discuss RCBO vs RCCB in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

D

David Wieser

I'm a Canadian electrician thrown into the 'European' wiring world (not in Europe though).

I was just reading up on RCCB in that they are 'similar' to our GFCI's but do not provide over current protection, therefore, an RCBO is required as the O in RCBO is over current protection.

As I've been doing my PM's on the buildings here, I've found that the test button is not longer functioning on the RCCB's and I was replacing them with the same, RCCB's. Now that I read that RCCB's don't provide over current protection, it looks like I should not have been replacing them with the same product.

Did the person before me install them incorrectly, and have I been continuing on with the same mistake?

Is the cable between the electrical panel (distribution board) and the secondary distribution panel only protected by our MCCB's? Or I should say, not protected at all between the DB and secondary distribution panel?

when using RCCBs without overcurrent protection, in the UK we always protect each circuit with it's own MCB. frequently several circuits will be shared on 1 RCCB.

I'm a Canadian electrician thrown into the 'European' wiring world (not in Europe though).

I was just reading up on RCCB in that they are 'similar' to our GFCI's but do not provide over current protection, therefore, an RCBO is required as the O in RCBO is over current protection.

As I've been doing my PM's on the buildings here, I've found that the test button is not longer functioning on the RCCB's and I was replacing them with the same, RCCB's. Now that I read that RCCB's don't provide over current protection, it looks like I should not have been replacing them with the same product.