Discuss rcd ground mount 4000 tl ............................. sorry im new in the Solar PV Forum | Solar Panels Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

T

toffeeman

Hi guys and girls , just installing a 4000tl and a groundmount system , i have used an earthrod to earth the frame and have a fuse board next to the inverter, we have a pme earthing from house to the TL fuseboard which i was going to divorce at the board . i know you guys have gone over this a few times but im new , my question is what R C D should i use. Im a sparks so was thinking a 30ma but after reading some posts this seems a bad idea ? any help wold be great

The 4000TL has an integrated 100mA RCD, so you may not need to add an additional RCD, only doing so if the nature of the circuit between the fuseboard and the inverter calls for one to be added - if it does, the RCD should be a 100mA device, as specified on page 26 of the 4000TL installation manual (Version 3.0)

SMA publishes a useful document about RCD selection, here - http://files.sma.de/dl/7418/RCD-UEN103120.pdf

Although slightly off the topic of your original question, a recent discussion, on this forum, about RCD protected bus-bars, generation systems and their implications for additional circuits connected to the RCD protected bus-bar, may be valuable reading, here - http://www.electriciansforums.net/p...en-energy-forum/47651-rcds-photovoltaics.html

Thanks , think i have cracked it, planning on exporting the p.m.e to the ground mount, plus a 100ma rcd on the fuseboard side, with 10ml earthbond between mounts, This doesnt feel right to me,but after alot of research seems to be best option open to me , i know the rcd is not needed with this earthing system but i dont like the thought of exporting pme, (belt and braces) . would apperciate anyone thoughts on this

you can't export the earth on a PME. you can only earth this through a spike.