Discuss RCD trip across board in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
I am a relatively newly qualified electrician and have completed a re-wire but come across a problem i dont understand.

I have a dual board with a lighting and a power circuit on each side. On the right side the power and lighting is entirely stable, but whenever a load is applied to the sockets it trips the left side RCD.

When i put load on the left side power circuit or put on more then three LED lights it trips the left RCD.

I have tested all the cables and cannot find any cause (such as wrong wiring or nails through wires) for the tripping.

Any ideas please, please?

or 2 faults .......... one on each side.......

On a rewire its probably the easiest fault finding you can do .......you know where all the cables run, where all the points are .....

Probably something to do with the two way lighting circuit on the landing/hall lighting connections

I am a relatively newly qualified electrician and have completed a re-wire but come across a problem i dont understand.

I have a dual board with a lighting and a power circuit on each side. On the right side the power and lighting is entirely stable, but whenever a load is applied to the sockets it trips the left side RCD.

When i put load on the left side power circuit or put on more then three LED lights it trips the left RCD.

I have tested all the cables and cannot find any cause (such as wrong wiring or nails through wires) for the tripping.

Any ideas please, please?
Where are you in the UK

Either crossed neutrals in the board or two separate faults.

Crossed neutrals has caught me out before because I assumed BG had wired the DB properly...

Don't go wibble, and proceed in a logical manner, if need be go back to the beginning (testing). Keep thinking and take on the ideas the chaps have given. Think of it as a learning exercise. Something to store for the future. Every day is a learning day