Discuss Rcd in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Pete999

-
Esteemed
Arms
Reaction score
Afternoon chaps and chapettes, got a tricky one for discussions, firstly let me explain I am an Electrician (retired some six years now) my neighbour has just changed his consumers unit, or had it changed by someone and asked me to check it out as it keeps tripping without any load connected, I don't have any gizmos like like you young things have, didn't manage to take them with me when I left work. M y thoughts are that the sparky has got the phase wires on the two rings crossed, only one RCD any thoughts
Pete999

Disconnect each circuit one by one to find the offending circuit, then investigate the offending circuit, could be N to earth, L to earth, anything really.

The CU has 2 rings, with nothing plugged in all OK as soon as you plug anything in, in either ring RCD goes off

Nah tried all the usual things like that,still think the "sparky"????? got his rings mixed up, going with a friend who is still working to try and help out, let you all know if he can find out whats wrong.
Pete999

Could be anything really, Without test results its a difficult one to diagnose.. New duel board and lots of people get court out by shared nuetural but again without a tester and results its a tough one to call..

You sure everything is disconnected? Light on the top / bottom stairs deffo not on ?

Is it a dual RCD split load board ? It could be due to the neutrals being crossed over or a shared neutral with upstairs and down stairs lights or a borrowed neutal from a socket circuit to supply a lighting circuit.