Discuss Rear light cluster no power? in the Auto Electrician Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi all. Im scratching my head a bit with this one (even though i am a kind of novice electrically speaking).
I have a Citroen Dispatch van 2007. All has been fine until recently the indicator icon on dashboard started flashing faster than normal (which indicates a bulb gone normally?). I changed the bulb on the rear cluster, but indicator is still flashing fast. I then asked someone to check which lights were working on the whole cluster, and to my suprise the whole lot are not working? (on OSR). Ive looked through handbook and it doesnt look like there is a specific fuse for the feed? I wondered if someone with experience with this stuff may be able to put me in the right direction so i can try to fix myself instead of shelling out unnecessarily.
Thanks in advance.
Shaggy B

Multiple fuses supply the rear cluster. That won't be the problem (the nearside reverse, fog & brake would have also stopped working otherwise.)

The negative connection to the cluster is common to all the bulbs, so that's what you need to check for first.

Do you have a multimeter?

what he said ^^^^^. check the PCB on the cluster. see if the tracks are corroded, or the plug-in connector is not faulty. it will probably be the connection and track that is common to all the bulbs ( lamps for the pedants out there).

Hi,before you start jamming the probes everywhere,is that lighting on CanBus? It will affect the test procedure and the damage which could occur.
The owners forum would be the place to start,for common issues,such as French comedy wiring...

Firstly, look inside the van, near the offside rear cluster, you should find where the negative connection is to the vehicle's body. It should look something like this...