Discuss replacing ceiling light in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
I need to replace current light fitting (picture a) with terminal block in picture b. I am a complete novice at electrics and am not sure how or if I am able to fit the new light with just this terminal block. My new light wont fit over the top of the current light fitting.

replacing ceiling light 20171221_200657 - EletriciansForums.net

replacing ceiling light 20171221_203333 - EletriciansForums.net

if, as you say, you are a complete novice, best to pay a local sparks a call-out to do that for you. it's less than a hour's work, inclusive of testing that the circuit is safe. not more than £40 on my watch. post your location, one of us is probably close.

horse for courses I say. nearly xmas .every tom dick and harry will be on the forums doing a bit of DIY cause the wife or girlfriend bending their ear to get the jobs done being the holidays .
HO.HO.HO.

Welcome to the forum.
Unfortunately there are a few too many problems raised by your post to enable us to have confidence we would not put you at risk.
I would say that the existing light fitting should be removed entirely and you would need another terminal available.
A professional would be the best option and you could perhaps ask them for an explanation at the time, to assist you for later work.

Hi,to the OP. you may notice,that on your original fitting base plate,you have three sets of terminal groups. You also have one set,at the top of the picture,for the earth cables.

This makes four separate "gatherings",of conductors.

You may have also noticed,the "chocolate block" type connector,in your other picture,has only three.

For this,and other reasons,you may struggle to get any professional spark,to walk you through a job such as this.