Discuss Replacing supply to garage in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi there.
I am not an electrician and ask this question of your forum.
My house needs rewiring as the cables although not perished are the type fitted in the 1960s and the lighting circuit is not earthed. The house CU is around 20 years old(Professionally installed) and the house is protected by a RCD between the Meter and CU, so if it trips the whole house supply is shut off.
I have lived in the house for over 35 years and one of the first jobs I undertook when moving in was to run a supply to a detached garage for a light and a double socket.
At the time I ran the supply cable in 2.5M twin and earth and to reach the garage it was buried in steel conduit.
Well time has moved on and having read all about Part P and the like I am aware of the need to have a qualified electrician carry out CU work and new circuits.
As mentioned it is my intention to have the house rewired late this year which will include work within the garage.
My issue is around some work I am having carried out on the garden which will result in digging up the area near the garage.This will enable me to replace the old supply cable with 6mm 3 core SWA.
Obviously I would like to connect this cable to the small junction box I have in the garage and the other end to the CU.
In the garage, from the junction box I installed a 6A fuse switch for the light feed, the double socket sits protected by the house CU trip switch which is 16A.
I appreciate a new CU will have the built in RCDs when replaced along with a CU in the garage
In preparation for the amount of work I will undertake in the house renovation I am looking to instal another twin socket for tool charging and running small power tools from the socket (chop saw)