Discuss Returning Electrician with Little on-site experience. in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Ash_C

-
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am after some advice, I qualified back in 2011 (NVQ Level 3 Electro technical Studies) and since then have not been 'an electrician' but a medical equipment engineer based on my apprenticeship being a shambles (I was a white goods installer for the majority of my 4 year term as an apprentice). Unfortunately government funded organisations do not shower their employees with money so I am exploring my options and returning back to being an electrician is the stand-out contender.

If I wanted to venture back to being a sparky; what do I need to do? I thought I was in tune with the internet but I cannot seem to find any stand-out advice.

Any help is greatly appreciated.
Anyone on here that knows of any local businesses or stand-alone electricians willing to assist with bringing me up to speed and if not pushing me onto furthering my career it is much appreciated.

Thank-you in advance.

First i would get yourself the 18th edition and do a testing qualification such as the 2391-52 that covers initial and periodic testing and inspection.
With the NVQ and these you would be in a good place to look for work, in mean time look for some electricians mates roles to get back upto speed.
Given your current role, if you approached hospitals for experience working with the in house sparks you would likely fine them open to it.

First i would get yourself the 18th edition and do a testing qualification such as the 2391-52 that covers initial and periodic testing and inspection.
With the NVQ and these you would be in a good place to look for work, in mean time look for some electricians mates roles to get back upto speed.