Discuss Reverting from LED lighting to Halogen in the Lighting Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

JD

-
Reaction score
Hi,

I am not an electrician but I wondered if I might ask for a little bit of advice?

My parents have just bought a house and all of the rooms are lit with LED light bulbs, which give me a bad headache after half an hour.

I would like to switch to halogen light bulbs, but I've never really worked with LED spotlights before and I wondered if you could tell me what I need to do to get the spotlights out of the ceiling and figure out which halogen bulb I need to buy to replace them?

Some of the rooms have 8 spotlights embedded in the ceiling, and some rooms have three bulbs sticking out of the ceiling in the mounts of some kind.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Jen

Hi,

Thanks, that's okay. Tbh if that's what needs to happen, it's easier to know that before I spend two weeks slogging through websites.

Ta!

Jen

I also get on with fluorescent energy saving bulbs and incandescent bulbs if they would be any good.

I am going back to visit, and I will take out the bulbs and look at them. If you could even give me a list of information to find out that would be extremely helpful.

I think it may be the flickering that is the problem though. I gather that is the main issue with LED, is it not? I've spent such a long time experimenting with LED-everything and it does such epically bad things to me each time. Tbh I'd rather just get rid of them.

I also have an old phone, and old computer and so on.

LOL! I have a Samsung GT-E1080, which is very easy on the eyes and also can make and receive telephone calls, which is what I need it for.
http://www.samsung.com/uk/support/model/GT-E1080ZKIXEU

My laptop is a Toshiba Satellite pro U400, which is also splendid.