Discuss Rewire and circuits advice in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
hi guys

I’m a qualified industrial electrician so I am competent working domestically however don’t have the official quals etc.

I’ve Recently bought my first house and if there was ever a time to do a rewire now is the time as the whole house requires decoration etc and I’m thinking of carrying out the work myself. House is a typical 1930s semi detached 3 bedroom.

Currently the house is fed from an 8 way RCBO board
6amp- Up lights
6amp- down stairs lights
16 amp- wash machine and dish washer (all in kitchen)
16amp - fridge, dryer, garage and alarm (all in kitchen)
32amp - up sockets
32amp - down sockets
32amp - kitchen sockets
32amp - Hob and cooker

I was surprised to see so many circuits for the kitchen. I understand there is nothing wrong with it And I understand the fridge/freezer being on its own supply to prevent defrosting of freezer etc however I would like to free up space on the board. Ideally where the 16 amp RCBOs and replace one for other rated RCBOs for different circuit.

Usually I have seen just a 32amp ring circuit for a kitchen as well as 32amp circuit for hob /oven circuit. Am I ok to have all kitchen appliances ie- fridge, dryer, washing machine, dish washer, plus counter top appliance all on a 32 amp ring main. Am I correct in thinking this is generally normal practice or am I way off.

Ideally I would like to have
2x6amp - lighting up and down
16amp - Combi boiler
20amp - garage/alarm
32amp x 4 up, down and kitchen ring, hob/oven

Thanks for the help and sorry if it seems long winded

Does the combi boiler require it's own circuit?
Are they not happy just to be fed from a switched fused spare from the RFC. 16A is a bit big isn't it.... or is that just me?

Looks like I'm not the only one who thinks 16A is a bit big....